Undream'd Shores (DVD)

Film of the premiere performances of Undream'd Shores at the Hackney Empire, November 2014 (85 minutes).

Over the centuries, thousands of migrants have found their way to England, making “a wild dedication of themselves to unpath’d waters, undream’d shores” (as Shakespeare put it), without knowing what lay ahead.

Living in Britain today, we are daily reminded of the generations of migrants who have helped forge our national identity. Undream'd Shores, created by Grand Union's composer/director Tony Haynes, explores their musical legacy to tell some of their stories.

This DVD vividly captures Grand Union’s most spectacular show yet for the gloriously atmospheric Hackney Empire Theatre, bringing together internationally-fêted musicians and singers, a brilliant new world choir and the unique Grand Union Youth Orchestra, the next generation of musicians from all London’s varied musical traditions.

"There were some incredibly moving moments in an outstanding concert that was as much as anything a timely celebration of difference through unity, and a heartening reminder of the power of music to bring people together." Yorkshire Post

20 minutes of highlights from the DVD can be found here 

Full-length individual numbers:

More details can be found here on the Grand Union website.

Music: Tony Haynes

Lyrics: Sara Clifford, António Gomes Leal, Li Yan, Saikat Ahamed, David Bradford, and from traditional sources

Grand Union Orchestra

  • Victoria Couper (England/Brazil) - voice
  • Liana Chaplin (Portugal) - voice
  • Richard Scott (England) - voice
  • Akash Sultan (Bangladesh) - voice
  • Jonathan André (Carribean British) - voice, African drums
  • Shanti Jayasinha (Sri Lanka/Scotland) - trumpet, flugelhorn
  • Claude Deppa (South Africa) - trumpet, African percussion
  • Kevin Robinson (Jamaica/USA) - trumpet, flugelhorn
  • Chris Biscoe (England) – soprano & alto saxophones, alto clarinet
  • Tony Kofi (Ghana) – alto & baritone saxophones
  • Louise Elliott (Australia) - tenor saxophone, flute
  • Patrick Kenny (Scotland) - trombone
  • Tony Haynes (England) - trombone, piano
  • Ros Davies (Wales) - trombone, flute
  • Nick Marr (England) – bass trombone
  • Andy Grappy (Caribbean British) - tuba
  • Zhu Xiao Meng (China) - gu zheng (Chinese harp)
  • Ruijun Hu (China) - dizi, xiao (Chinese flutes)
  • Antonio Días (Portugal) - Portuguese guitar
  • Daniel Louis (St Lucia) - steel pan
  • Yousuf Ali Khan (Bangladesh) - tabla, dholak
  • Carlos Fuentes (Chile) - Latin American percussion
  • Lilia Iontcheva (Bulgaria) – percussion
  • Gerry Hunt (England) - guitar, baritone sax, clarinet
  • Andres Lafone (Uruguay) - bass guitar
  • Dave Adams (England) - drums

Additional solo singers

  • Jacqueline Lwanzo (Congo)
  • Adwoa Dickson (Jamaica)
  • Maja Rivic (Croatia)
  • Tommy Vun Cheung Ng (Malaysia)
  • Noga Ritter (Israel)                                                 

Grand Union - The Second Generation

  • Gunes Cerit (Turkey) - baglama, voice
  • Ketan Kerai (India/England) - sarangi, dhol
  • Josh Brandler (Caribbean British) - double bass
  • Mak Murtic (Croatia) - tenor saxophone
  • Maya McCourt (England) – cello

Grand Union Youth Orchestra

GUYO String Ensemble (led by Geraldine McEwan, violin)

Grand Union World Choir (directed by Naveen Arles) 

  • Sound engineer: Paul Sparrow
  • Lighting designer: Steve Fox
  • Stage director: Cengiz Saner
  • Video director: Terry Braun
  • Video editing and production: Braunarts


£8.00 includes free shipping and VAT